I love quotes

I’m a great fan of literature and I enjoy reading. I’ve also always liked little quotes and proverbs. They seem to have so much meaning and wisdom in a small form. One of my favorite books in the Bible is actually the book of Proverbs. As I became a believer I’ve also found the sayings of the great saints of old to be very powerful. Here are some of my favorite Christian quotes:

“Christ is either Lord of all,
or He is not Lord at all.”

“I used to ask God to help me.
Then I asked if I might help Him.
I ended up by asking Him
to do his work through me.”

– Hudson Taylor (1832-1905)
English missionary to China and founder of China Inland Mission

“Peace is such a precious jewel that I would give anything for it but truth.”

– Matthew Henry (1662-1714)
English Non-conformist Bible commentator

“Some want to live within the sound
Of Church or Chapel bell;
I want to run a rescue shop
Within a yard of hell.”

C.T. Studd (1860-1931)
English missionary to China, India, Africa

I think these quotes are very good and very challenging.

All of the quotes above can be found here: http://www.wholesomewords.org/

I can recommend the website above. It’s a great resource which includes missionary biographies, devotionals and more. Check it out!

 

Leave a comment